Holiday Makeup Inspiration

Tomorrow is Christmas Eve.

When did that happen?????

Man, Christmas really snuck up on me this year. Maybe it’s the unusually warm weather or how incredibly busy I was with school, but I just feel so unprepared for the holiday. It’s crazy. Like, I just finished my shopping the other day. Normally at this time, I’m already done with that for weeks!

But I digress. The bottom line is, I’m unprepared.

For example, yesterday when I was vegging out and doing nothing important, I realized that I’ve yet to choose my outfits for the next two days. Sounds a little silly, but with the amount of photos my family manages to take at our holiday gatherings, it’s kind of pretty important. So I started on a trek to determine what I’m going to wear both tomorrow and the day after.

That trek, however, ended very abruptly when some feminine tummy pains kicked into full gear. So no outfits were chosen, and I still have no idea what I’m going to wear. Oh well. Figure that out tomorrow, Leah.

But Mother Nature’s surprise did lead me to playing around with my makeup in order to try to find a festive look (because makeup is much easier to deal with than clothes when you’re curled up in a ball on the couch). And here’s the look I came up with:

DSC_0974DSC_0980DSC_0982 (2)

It’s simple, but at the same time, it’s not; a champagne, brown, and gold eye paired with some forest green liner and a light burgundy lip makes for a pretty darn classy (yet incredibly easy to do) holiday look.

Here are the products I used for my face:

DSC_1002

Foundation Primer: Cover F(X); Foundation: Revlon Colorstay; Concealer: a combination of Nars Radiant Creamy Concealer and Pixi by Petra Correction Concentrate; Eye Brightener: Tony Moly; Setting Spray: Smashbox Photo Finish Primer Water; Setting Powder: yourMinerals Sweden Transparent Veil Setting Powder; Contour: Too Faced Chocolate Soleil Bronzer; Blush: Nars Lovejoy; Highlighter: Clinique Chubby Stick

Please feel free to use any products you wish; you by no means have to use these (which is why I’m being as vague about them as possible, so you don’t feel the urge to purchase).

I chose to keep the face makeup very light and natural, that way the eyes and lips could take the show rather than clash with the foundation, blush, and bronzer and look 1980s-gone-worse.

As for the actual application, I just followed my usual skin routine for foundation, concealer, powder, etc., which you should do, too (follow your own routine, that is). Then, I put blush on the apples of my cheeks (and bronzer in the hollows), as well as highlighter on my cheekbones, temples, cupid’s bow, and nose bridge, just to bring some life and color back into my face.

The following picture has some swatches of the bronzer, blush, and highlighter I used, just so you can see what they actually look like:

DSC_1008

From left to right: Too Face Chocolate Soleil Bronzer, Nars Lovejoy blush, and the Clinique Chubby Stick highlighter

Now the products I used for my shadow, liner, and lips:

DSC_1010

Eyeshadow Base: Nars; Eyeshadow: a combination of an old Estee Lauder pallete and a Maybelline Color Tattoo shadow; Eyeliner: another combo, this time of a Tarte Amazonian Clay Waterproof liner and a MAC liner from an old holiday collection; Mascara: L’Oreal Voluminous Butterfly; Brows: Bodyography trio and Anastasia gel; Lipstick: Dior Rouge in Prune Daisy

For the eyeshadow base, after applying primer, I used my Maybelline Color Tattoo (the champagne one in the pot next to the pallete in the photo above), putting it all over the upper and lower eyelids. Then I applied the champagne color in the Estee Lauder pallete over top. It may seem a bit redundant, but I did it to give the typically natural-looking shades more of a pop, since it is a special occasion and all.

In the corners of each eye, I took the deep, matte brown shadow in the pallete and blended it out as much as I possibly could to add a natural depth to the look. I also used a bit of the gold shade in the pallete overtop to bring some sparkle back into that area.

Just remember to apply your shadow in light layers; you can always build up to the color you want, but if you start with too much, the only thing you can do to fix it is grab the makeup remover and begin the whole thing again.

For the liner, I started with the Tarte Amazonian Clay Waterproof Liner and gently rimmed around the edges of my eyes (but not on the tight/waterlines!!). This shade, however, was a little too emerald for my liking, so I took a MAC pencil that I had from an old holiday collection (that is supposed to be emerald but is actually more like gray with a hint of pine) and went over the liner in order to deepen it. Which worked wonderfully, might I add.

After a coat of mascara and some burgundy lipstick, the look was complete.

Here are the swatches of the products I used on my eyes and lips (and brows lol cause why not?):

DSC_1015

Left column – Bodyography Brow Trio (darkest followed by lightest shade in the pallete); Tarte SmolderEyes Amazonian Clay Waterproof Liner; old MAC holiday pencil. Right Column – Estee Lauder Pallete (all four shades, not just the three I used). Weird red swatch in between both columns – Rouge Dior Lipstick in Prune Daisy.

And here’s the look one final time:

DSC_0979

Dazzling *insert jazz hands here*

So what do you think? I hope this helped inspire your makeup for the next few days! Thanks for reading, and have a very merry Christmas!

Until next time ❤

Let your thoughts be known!

